InkTip: Waste or Worth It?

Recently I responded to a question on a screenwriting message board asking if InkTip.com was worth trying to promote your script. For $60 you get a six-month listing on the site, where your logline, synopsis and script can be read by industry professionals. I’ve used it before and gotten positive results, which I mentioned in my reply. The next writer posted: “InkTip is a complete waste of time and money.” Maybe for him… and maybe for you, depending on the type of script you have or whether your pitch is any good.

My philosophy for marketing scripts is simple: whatever works. The only way to find out though is by doing your research, then trying different approaches and venues. I’ve heard people say mass e-queries are stupid… and then you hear about someone who landed an agent or got a deal using one of those services (myself included). The same is true of InkTip. Granted, you’re not likely to have studio level execs or big agencies reading your stuff. What’s more likely is you will have smaller management companies or indie type prodcos looking at your logline and budget range info (your listing includes lots of categories to help producers search for projects that fit what they’re searching for).

If you have a “smaller,” more personal type script that’s a drama, quirky comedy, low budget horror or thriller, then InkTip might be a good fit for you. At $60 for six months, it’s not much more than entering a contest — and how many reads are you going to get from entering a competition? Possibly one and you’re done. Make it to the later rounds or finals of a contest, and you might get read by half a dozen judges who may or may not have some clout. Moreover, if your logline and synopsis isn’t getting many views on InkTip, that may tell you something needs tweaking in your pitch or requires a major overhaul of the concept.

As I said, I’ve made some good connections through InkTip. A few years ago, I listed my INUGAMI script and got a request from Ben Rock. Turned out he was one of the core BLAIR WITCH guys (he was credited as set designer) and was looking for horror projects to direct. BTW, he directed THE BURKETTSVILLE 7 companion piece documentary for cable, which I think is actually better than BLAIR WITCH. Stylistically, it reminded me of a creepy old real documentary called TITICUT FOLLIES about deplorable conditions in an insane asylum, crossed with Errol Morris documentaries (Ben said I “nailed it” when I told him that).

Ben liked INUGAMI a lot, and forwarded it to his manager… who then sent it to some of his studio contacts without telling me. They passed, but I remained in touch with that manager. Although I didn’t sign with him, he’ll still read my stuff, but he’s looking for very specific type scripts that he feels he can sell. In fact, he did sell a spec for a million bucks a couple of years ago and the movie got made by A-list people. Unfortunately, it bombed — and I wasn’t surprised because the manager had sent me the script before it was produced, and I felt it was a lame rip-off of other hitmen/hired assassin movies I had seen. Of course, I didn’t tell him that.

I’ve made contact with other producers as well through InkTip. Most recently, I listed my award-winning low budget script, THE DOLL… and yesterday I spent an hour on the phone with an upcoming actress and veteran director, who have formed their own prodco, and are very interested in producing my script. So is InkTip a waste of time and money? Not for me.

I’ll fill you in on more details about THE DOLL project and what’s happening in my next post. Wish me luck! And don’t listen to anyone who tells you what will or won’t work for you. Because the truth is many people know a few things about how to make it in the biz, but there are no set and dried rules for success. Try. Fail. Try again. Repeat as necessary.

Explore posts in the same categories: screenwriting

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

One Comment on “InkTip: Waste or Worth It?”


  1. As always, Rich, fabulous advice!


Comments are closed.


